Calling André Roubo

I mentioned in my last post that I was considering building a Roubo book stand. After considerable thought, I decided to abandon that idea and go with something a bit different. Imagine, if you will, André Roubo showing up in the 21st-century. Like most self-respecting individuals of this century, I’m sure he would have a cell phone. So, with this in mind, I thought I’d try my hand at a Roubo-esque cell phone stand.

Starting with a 3″ x 7″ piece of 3/4″ white pine, I laid out a few measurements, to locate a three-knuckle knuckle joint, to establish the depth of the shelf, and to add a bit of decoration.

IMG_3284

Next up, I drilled 1/16″ diameter holes at the four corners of the middle knuckle.

IMG_3285

Using a fret saw, I joined the drilled holes, vertically.

IMG_3287

With a chisel, I started removing waste from around the knuckles, alternating top to bottom across the face of the workpiece.

IMG_3288

The piece was flipped over and the process repeated.

IMG_3289

With the knuckles formed, I then resawed the piece down the centerline, making sure to stop at the knuckle tangents.

IMG_3291

After using a knife to slice through the knuckle tangents one more time, the stand separated nicely.

IMG_3294

With just a trifle bit of clean-up, I trimmed the shelf, front leg, and added the decorations.

IMG_3280

A 1/2″ wide recess was cut into the shelf to allow for a charging cord.

IMG_3282

I just love how this stand folds up when not in use. I sure hope I made André Roubo smile!

IMG_3281

14 thoughts on “Calling André Roubo

  1. Now that’s a good idea. I thought I’d make the Roubo bookstand sometime. Now there’s a change of plans. This would be more useful by far.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.