If you don’t …

I seem still to be at odds with Mother Nature, as rainy or overly cloudy days abound. Sporadic shop time plays havoc with one’s skills. My heart goes out to the weekend warriors, especially when it comes to hand-cut dovetails. When I was in the U.S. Army as a musician, we had a saying, “If you don’t practice for a day, you’ll know it. If you don’t practice for two days, other musicians will know it. If you don’t practice for a week, everyone will know it!”

Unfortunately, my supply of gummy cherry did not hold up to my lack of practice. Not once, but twice, did I mistakenly remove waste from the wrong side of the mark! Yet, after a slight design change, I managed to get the carcase of my sliding-top box dovetailed together using a piece of mahogany. Mahogany and gummy cherry complement one another, right? I think the contrast will be striking once the box is completed and oiled.

With the carcase together, the grooves cut and the drawer front separated from the end, it’s time to resaw a piece of mahogany for the sliding top and find some pine for the drawer parts.

Stay tuned. I promise to have this completed before Christmas. LOL!

7 thoughts on “If you don’t …

  1. I feel your pain, and fear for the gappiness of my first dovetails once I’m in the new shop. You’ll probably be able to drive a truck through the gaps. Yours look comparatively tight.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When l made my first dove tailed drawer, l was very anxious and focused. It came out pretty good so l showed it to a fellow wood worker who had told me about a bureau he had built. There l was, full of the pride of accomplishment and he just asked why l had cut the dove tails by hand instead of using a router. Anyway, l have done a few since then, all by hand. It takes a great deal of focus as well as marking out cuts with a very fine point (l use a #4 pencil) and l mark the waste with a black sharpie. Even so, l do a practice set before l commit to the real work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.